The Witcher Books Reading Order Guide

the witcher reading order

We’ve compiled a list of the reading order for Witcher fans old and new.

When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

1. The Last Wish

The short story collection includes the adventure that led Geralt to claim Ciri as his child surprise, meeting the bard Dandelion (Jaskier), as well as Yennefer.

2. Sword of Destiny

This next short story collection features Geralt and his destiny with Yennefer and Ciri.

3. Blood of Elves

This book introduces familiar events for fans of the games and Netflix series. Ciri gets training, but others are on the hunt for her.

4. The Time of Contempt

A coup brews in the magical community and Ciri joins The Rats, leading to Geralt trying to find her.

5. Baptism of Fire

Geralt gathers his team in search of Ciri. It's a turning point. Although they continue to drift further apart, they are tied together by destiny.

6. The Tower of the Swallow

It follows Ciri, Geralt, and Yennefer as they all move separately. Each character seems to reach a tipping point by the novel’s end.

7. The Lady of the Lake

War has officially broken out between the North and Nilfgaard and Ciri, Geralt, and Yennefer are desperate to be reunited.

Optional: Season of Storms

We recommend this one in any sequence, saving it for last, or just reading it any time after Geralt’s intro in The Last Wish.