D23 Expo: Meet the Members of the Thunderbolts


When Thunderbolts #1 came out in 1997, they were described as Marvel’s version of DC’s Suicide Squad. In that first issue, Baron Zemo secretly rebranded the Masters of Evil to the Thunderbolts. Unfortunately for Zemo, the members of Thunderbolts (Moonstone, Goliath, Fixer, Beetle, and Screaming Mimi) defected and became actual heroes.

In the MCU version of the team, we’re getting a variation of that with a group of anti-heroes. At the Marvel Studios presentation at D23, Kevin Feige revealed the roster for the MCU’s version of the team.

Thunderbolts Roster

They are:

  • Contessa Valentina Allegra de Fontaine (Julia Louis-Dreyfus)
  • Ghost (Hannah John-Kamen)
  • Red Guardian (David Harbour)
  • Yelena Belova (Florence Pugh)
  • Winter Soldier (Sebastian Stan)
  • U.S. Agent (Wyatt Russell)
  • Taskmaster (Olga Kurylenko)

As you can see, the team isn’t the most mentally stable group. It’s a thought that has crossed Sebastian Stan’s mind. He couldn’t help but wonder aloud if The Winter Soldier might be the most “stable” of his new teammates. Only time will tell.

It’s a bit shocking, though, that Baron Zemo showed signs of being a reformed villain (like the preceding list of heroes), he is not part of the Thunderbolts roster. However, he might end up as the movie’s villain because we know nothing else about the film except the team roster.

Thunderbolts will hit theaters on July 26, 2024.

Facebook Comments