Winners announced for 2nd Annual Los Angeles Online Film Critics Society awards

Bohemian Rhapsody Trailer #1

The 2nd Annual Los Angeles Online Film Critics Societ Awards winners have been announced for 2018. The biggest winner goes to The Hate U Give with four awards including Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay. Next place is Eighth Grade with three awards including Best Independent Film, Best First Feature and Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under for Elsie Fisher. For comic book fans, Black Panther wins for Best Blockbuster. A Quiet Place won for Best Sci-Fi/Horror. Action fans should be excited about Mission: Impossible – Fallout winning for Best Action Film and Best Stunt Work.

Rami Malek wins Best Actor for his portrayal of Freddie Mercury in Bohemian Rhapsody and Toni Collette wins Best Actress for her role in Hereditary.

The Best Male Director goes to Spike Lee for BlacKkKlansman and Best Female Director goes to Lynne Ramsey for You Were Never Really Here. Alfonso Cuaron’s Roma wins for Best Foreign Film and Best Cinematography.

On Tuesday, December 11, 2018, LAOFCS will be revealing the winners for the Trailblazer Award, LAOFCS Acting Achievement Award and Directing Achievement Award.

The 2nd Annual LAOFCS award ceremony will take place on Wednesday, January 9, 2019, at the Taglyan Complex in Los Angeles. Each Award will be given to the winners.

Here are all the winners below:

Best Picture:

The Hate U Give(Fox)

Best Actor:

Rami Malek – Bohemian Rhapsody (Fox)

Best Actress:

Toni Collette – Hereditary(A24)

Best Supporting Actor: (TIE)

Mahershala Ali – Green Book (Universal)

Russell Hornsby – The Hate U Give (Fox)

Best Supporting Actress:

Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk(Annapurna)

Best Performance by an Actor 23 and Under: (TIE)

Lucas Hedges – Ben Is Back (Roadside Attractions)

Alex Wolff -Hereditary (A24)

Best Performance by an Actress 23 and Under:

Elsie Fisher – Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Breakthrough Performance:

Amandla Stenberg – The Hate U Give (Fox)

Best Cast:

The Favourite (Fox Searchlight)

Best Female Director:

Lynne Ramsey – You Were Never Really Here (Amazon)

Best Male Director:

Spike Lee – BlacKkKlansman (Focus)

Best Adapted Screenplay:

Audrey Wells – The Hate U Give (Fox)

Best Original Screenplay:

Adam McKay – Vice(Annapurna)

Best Action Film:

Mission: Impossible – Fallout (Paramount)

Best Animated Film:

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (Sony)

Best Blockbuster:

Black Panther (Disney)

Best Comedy/Musical:

The Favourite (Fox Searchlight)

Best Documentary:

Won’t You Be My Neighbor? (Focus)

Best First Feature:

Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Foreign Film:

Roma (Netflix)

Best Indie Film:

Eighth Grade (A24)

Best Sci-Fi/Horror:

A Quiet Place (Paramount)

Best Cinematography:

Alfonso Cuarón – Roma (Netflix)

Best Editing:

Nicholas D. Johnson and Will Merrick – Searching (Sony)

Best Original Song:

Shallow – A Star is Born (Warner Brothers)

Best Score:

Nicholas Britell -If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna)

Best Stunts:

Mission: Impossible Fallout (Paramount)

Best Visual Effects:

Avengers: Infinity War (Disney)

Best Visual Effects or Animated Performance:

Josh Brolin and Digital Domain- Avengers: Infinity War (Disney)


Facebook Comments