KCON LA concert lineup inclues Astro, Girl’s Day, and many more

KCON USA – Los Angeles have announced their lineup for their two-day concert event at the Staples Center this August. Cosmic Girls, Heize, and Seventeen are the latest to be announced in a lineup that includes Astro, Girl’s Day, NCT 127, SF9 and VIXX. KCON USA, the world’s largest Korean culture convention and music festival, returns to Los Angeles on August 18-20.

KCON New York, which took place in June at the Prudential Center, attracted over 43,000 people to their event. KCON Los Angeles is expected to be even bigger and is expected to sell out.

Tickets for those who want to go to both shows will go on sale on July 14th at 10am PST/1pm EST. For individual concerts, fans can purchase tickets on July 17th at 10am PST/1pm EST. KCON will offer a variety of packages for fans who want more access to the event, including red carpet events and Klub KCON. For more details on the tickets, click here.

For our experience at KCON last year, click here.

About the performers:

ASTRO is a six-member boy group that debuted on February 23, 2016 with their mini-album Spring Up. Prior to releasing their debut album HIDE & SEEK, the group first starred in their own web drama series “To Be Continued” in August 2015 as well as their own reality television show Astro OK! Ready in January 2016. Since then, their music video for “HIDE & SEEK” has gained over 5.2 million views and their official fanclub name has been revealed as AROHA, which stands for ASTRO Hearts All Fans. ASTRO dropped their 4th mini album titled Dream Part.01 with title track “Baby” on May 29, 2017. Their first concert “ASTROAD” has been announced to take place at the Olympic Park in Seoul on July 15 and 16, 2017.

Cosmic Girls, also known as WJSN, is a Korean-Chinese girl group formed by Starship Entertainment and Yuehua Entertainment. The group is currently composed of thirteen members: Seola, Xuan Yi, Bona, Exy, Soobin, Luda, Dawon, Eunseo, Cheng Xiao, Mei Qi, Yeoreum, Dayoung, and Yeonjung. The group debuted with their first EP album [WOULD YOU LIKE?] in February 2016, which included title tracks “Mo Mo Mo” and “Catch Me.” In August 2016, Cosmic Girls released their second mini-album, [THE SECRET], with I.O.I’s Yeonjung added as the group’s 13th member. In January 2017, Cosmic Girls released [From. WJSN] with title track “I Wish.” Earlier this month, Cosmic Girls released their first full-length studio album, [HAPPY MOMENT], composed of 10 new songs, including title track “HAPPY.”

GIRL’S DAY is a girl group formed by Dream Tea Entertainment in 2010. The group currently consist of four members: Sojin, Minah, Yura, and Hyeri. The group debuted with their first EP Girl’s Day Party #1 on July 9, 2010. After releasing their second and third EP Everyday and Everyday 2 in 2012, Girl’s Day released their first full-length album Expectation on March 14, 2013. The title track “Expectation” became a huge success and was awarded the “Long-Run Song of the Year” award at the third Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards. They followed up with promoting the track “Female President,” which made it on Billboard’s “20 Best K-pop Songs of 2013.” In January 2014, the title track “Something” from their fourth EP Everyday 3 became their highest-charting single, peaking at #2 on both Billboard‘s Korea K-Pop Hot 100 and the Gaon Digital Chart. In March 2017, the group made a comeback with title track “I’ll Be Yours.” Their new EP Everyday #5 debuted at No. 7 on Billboard‘s World Albums chart; the music video on 1theK’s channel surpassed 2 million views in less than 24 hours.

NCT 127 is part of the K-pop boy group NCT, which stands for Neo Culture Technology. The group consists of 9 members: Taeil, Johnny, Taeyong, Doyoung, Yuta, Jaehyun, Win Win, Mark, and Haechan. The number 127 represents the longitude coordinates of Seoul, South Korea. NCT 127 made their debut in July last year with a mini album titled NCT #127. Their second mini album Limitless was released digitally on January 6, 2017 and physically on January 9, 2017. The new album scored No.1 spot on Billboard’s World Albums Chart upon its release. The NCT unit is reported to be making a comeback with their third mini-album titled NCT #127 CHERRY BOMB on June 14, 2017.

Heize is a South Korean singer-songwriter and rapper. She made her debut in 2014 with her self-titled mini-album Heize. She participated in Mnet’s hip-hop survival reality show Unpretty Rapstar Vol.2 in 2015. In July 2016, she released her second EP album, And July, with title track “And July” featuring DEAN and DJ Fritz. Her single “Star,” released in 2016, charted at #1 on Gaon Digital Chart upon its release. She has also participated in the making of several Korean dramas’ original soundtracks, including “Did You Ride UFO?” for Jealousy Incarnate in 2016 and “Round and Round” for Guardian: The Lonely and Great God in 2017.

Seventeen is a 13-member boy group who debuted under Pledis Entertainment in 2015. The members are S.Coups, Jeonghan, Joshua, Jun, Hoshi, Wonwoo, Woozi, DK, Mingyu, The8, Seungkwan, Vernon, and Dino. They are also active with three different sub-units: “Hip Hop Unit,” “Vocal Unit,” and “Performance Unit.” The group is known as the “self-producing” idol group as the members are deeply involved in the composition and production of their discography and choreography. Seventeen debuted on May 26 with a live showcase and was the first male Kpop group to debut with a one-hour live showcase on a major broadcasting channel. Their first EP, 17 Carat, was released along with the music video for title track “Adore U” on May 29, 2015. 17 Carat later became the longest-charting K-pop album of the year in the U.S. and was the only rookie album to appear on Billboard‘s “10 Best K-pop Albums of 2015” chart. Since then, they have released one studio album, Love & Letter (2016), and two more Eps, Boys Be (2015) and Going Seventeen (2016).

SF9 is a boy group formed by FNC Entertainment and the company’s first dance boy group. The group consists of nine members: Young Bin, In Seong, Jae Yoon, Da Won, Ro Woon, Zu Ho, Tae Yang, Hwi Young, and Cha Ni. The group name stands for Sensational Feeling 9. They debuted on October 5, 2016 with their first single album Feeling Sensation. Their second mini album Breaking Sensation was released on April 18 and landed No.5 on Billboard’s World Albums Chart which was released on April 26, 2017.

VIXX is a six-member boy group under Jellyfish Entertainment. The members are N, Leo, Ken, Ravi, Hongbin, and Hyuk. Before their official debut, the members were featured on the Mnet survival reality show MyDOL. The six members and the group name “VIXX” were both chosen by viewer votes on the show. The group is known for their unique music concepts and group performances that tell a story through each title track. VIXX debuted with their first single “Super Hero” on M COUNTDOWN on May 24, 2012. They achieved their first music show win on KBS 2TV Music Bank with “Voodoo Doll” on December 6th the year following their debut. On May 15th this year, VIXX released their fourth mini album Shangri-La, part of the three-event VIXX V FESTIVAL to celebrate the group’s fifth anniversary.


Facebook Comments