GDC 2016 – Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens


A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away… I mean, a few days ago during GDC in San Francisco, I was invited to get some hands-on time with Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens, the next installment to the Lego video game franchise.

Of course being a Lego game, developer TT Fusion was able to have some fun by adding a whole new flavor to the series with some cool ideas and unique puzzles, filled with Lego characters from the movie. I had a chance to play through three different levels recreated straight out of The Force Awakens: Scavenger, Niima Outpost and Falcon. Each stage showed off a different element to the game and introduced a fun new system that really takes advantage of what Lego is all about, taking a pile of Lego bricks and being able to create multiple objects, then tearing it down to build something new to help get passed certain areas.

Here is a quick break down of the levels:

Scavenger – Scavenger does a great job of introducing different puzzles that make use of Rey’s staff and BB-8. This introduced the ability to create different objects from the same pile of bricks, having to switch back and forth between characters in a single player mode, or work together to get past the stage.


Niima Outpost – Set as Finn finds Rey and BB-8, the trio must escape the First Order who is seeking the droid and traitor. Here you fight as Rey with her staff or Finn with his blaster as you travel through the Niima Outpost. It was pretty challenging since many of the puzzles get a bit tricky, having to build multiple items right for the character in a certain order, but it’s pretty fun beating up Lego Stormtroopers.


Falcon – Here you get to fly the Millenuim Falcon after escaping Niima Outpost. Some problems the previous Lego Star Wars game had were stiff controls and the flying sections weren’t all that fun. TT Fusion made sure to improve the flying levels of the game by improving the controls and adding a free flying mode with objectives to proceed. You’ll also find that you’ll be able to find some hidden objectives in these level which will reward players with some goodies. Compared to the previous game, I found myself having plenty of fun flying around in the Falcon. If you’re paired up with a friend, one player gets to fly the Falcon while the other is in control of the shooting.

There is a lot to look forward to in Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which will feature 18 different levels featuring Rey, Finn, BB-8 and other characters from the Star Wars film. We will see 11 levels taken straight out of the Star Wars films including Jakku, Takodana, The Starkiller base, and D’qar, along with 7 new story levels including what Han and Chewbacca were doing before they found the Falcon.

There will be plenty to do with more than 200 collectibles to find along with customizable characters. You may also notice a few familiar voices along the way as a few voice actors from the movie reprise their role in the game.

Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens will be released on June 28, 2016, for PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, PlayStation Vita, Xbox One, Xbox 360, Wii U, Nintendo 3DS and Steam.

Facebook Comments

About author

Chris Del Castillo
Chris Del Castillo 2588 posts

Growing up Chris watched a lot of the original Saturday morning cartoons and developed a love for arts and animation. Growing up he tried his hand at animation and eventually script writing, but even more his love of video games, anime and technology grew.

View all posts by this author →