Evo 2015 winners crowned, plus record-breaking viewership


Evo 2015, the biggest fighting game tournament of the year, is over and it’s definitely one to remember. The three-day tournament held in Las Vegas featured some of the most intense matches in multiple fighting games, and each game had one champion for the crown. Jamie Lee Curtis cosplayed as Vega, and it broke earlier records with over 250,000 people watching the Street Fighter finals on Twitch.

Let’s take a look at some of the final matches from each game and the build up.

Ultra Street Fighter IV

Big names like Daigo, Kazunoko, Justin Wong and a few others didn’t make it into top eight as expected this year, but the final two matches of the main event felt like an eternity to the players on stage competing for first place.

In the Losers finals match between Avermedia’s Gamerbee and Infiltration, it was back and forth between as Infiltration counterpicked Chun-Li against Gamerbee’s Elena, abusing Ultra 2 to gain life and to get in Infiltration’s head. In the end Gamerbee just made it passed Infiltration in the final match to face off against Evil Geniuses’ Momochi.

In the finals, Momochi and Gamerbee had an intense showdown with Gamerbee resetting the bracket as the two went back and forth. In the final round, Momochi’s Evil Ryu took the first match, and shortly into the second match, the pause button was hit causing Momochi to lose the match to Gamerbee as written per rules, but it turns out his stick was malfunctioning at the worst possible time. A few second later Momochi was handed a new stick and in the final match, he proceeded to take out Gamerbee to win Ultra Street Fighter IV at Evo, taking home a brand new gold Madcatz stick and a huge prize payout.


Top 8

1. EG|Momochi [Ken/Elena/Evil Ryu]
2. AvM|GamerBee [Elena/Adon]
3. Infiltration [Evil Ryu/ Chun-Li/ Abel/ Decapre/ Elena/ Juri]
4. BE|Nemo  (Rolento)
5. /r/Kappa|AiAi  [Juri]
5. MCZ|Tokido [Akuma]
7. EG|PR Balrog [Balrog]
7. Liquid|NuckleDu [Decapre, Guile]

Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3

Before Evo 2015, Evil Geniuses’ Justing Wong had placed a bounty on himself, Filipino Champ and Chris G. who are considered to be the the gods of Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3. In the end neither of the three had made it into the top 8.

KaneBlueRiver and his big body team may have been going in as the underdog, but he was also the man who sent Justin Wong into losers and showed just how powerful and vicious his team could be especially if his Hulk landed a touch on you. With so many amazing matches, the odds on favorite to win was ApologyMan and his team of Firebrand, Dr. Doom, and Super-Skrull. In the Losers Final’s match, he was taken out by RayRay, leading into a showdown of  CTRL|RayRay’s Magneto, Dr. Doom and Sentinel vs BE|KaneBlueRiver big body team of Hulk, Sentinel, Haggar, which came down to the last match where KBR quickly dominated the match and won his first Evo championship.


Top 8

1. BE|KaneBlueRiver [Hulk / Sentinel / Haggar]
2. CTRL|RayRay  [Magneto / Dr. Doom / Sentinel]
3. ApologyMan [Firebrand / Dr. Doom / Super-Skrull
4. TA|Frutsy [M.O.D.O.K., / Captain America / Dr. Doom]
5. YKWIS|GoldenBoyNeo  [Magneto / Dr. Doom / Phoenix]
5. TMP|Cross [Zero / Dr. Strange / Dante]
7. T3|Dizzy [Zero / Dr. Doom, Vergil[
7. R.F. [Morrigan / Dr. Doom, Vergil]

Super Smash Bros. Melee

Super Smash Bros. Melee is still going strong in the tournament scene, and the top eight matches featured some very familiar pro players facing off to once again be the best. In the end Alliance’s Armada took it over Liquid Hungrybox, in a very fast-paced and back-and-forth Fox vs Jigglypuff match.


Top 8

1. Alliance|Armada [Fox / Peach]
2. Liquid|Hungrybox [Jigglypuff]
3. EG|PPMD [Marth / Falco]
4. PG|Plup [Sheik / Samus]
5. TSM|Leffen [Fox]
5. C9|Mango [Fox / Falco]
7. Tempo|Axe [Pikachu]
7. MH|ChuDat [Ice Climbers]

Super Smash Bros. Wii U

Super Smash Bros. for the Nintendo Wii U made its first appearance, and EVO had one of the highest entry numbers along with Ultra Street Fighter IV and Super Smash Bros. Melee. While the finals were held on day 2, fans were still excited to see some of the top players facing off.

The finals came down to Zero’s Diddy Kong vs LLL Mr R’s Sheik. While the matches where close as the two fought their hardest, Zero overcame his opponent to take home the title of Super Smash Bros. Evo Champion.


Top 8

1. ZeRo
2. LLL|Mr. R
3. Nairo
4. ASA|Abadango
5. Boreal|Ally
5. IQHQ|DaBuz
7. PG|Esam

Mortal Kombat X

Right before Mortal Kombat X was released, Warner Bros and NetherRealm Studios held a special invite only tournament which cR|SonicFox ended up winning. SonicFox was also the Injustice: Gods Among Us 2014 Evo champ and looked to add another championship under his young belt. In the end SonicFox came all the way back from losers facing three members of Yomi with his Kitana, making it to the grandfinals.

He challenged PND|A Foxy Grandp with his Mileena and while it helped him get two wins, he was also in danger of losing when he switched to Erron Black, where he took the next match to reset the bracket for the next three matches. The last one came down to the wire as his opponent with no life jumped into the caltrops trap to lose while trying to rush down SonicFox, making him now a two-time Evo champ.


1. cR|SonicFox [Erron Black/Kitana]
2. PND|A Foxy Grandpa [Kung Lao]
3. cR|HoneyBee [D’Vorah]
4. YOMI|MIT [Tanya, Sonya Blade]
5. PND|Ketchup [Quan Chi]
5. YOMI|DJT [Kung Lao]
7. JLA|MilkySituation [Reptile]
7. YOMI|Zyphox [Liu Kang]


Facebook Comments