Marvel Comics is ending 33 comics during Secret Wars

MarvelSecretWars thumb

We knew that Marvel Comics was planning something drastic when the Secret Wars announcements were coming in. Now Marvel’s SVP of sales & marketing David Gabriel has told that the comic publisher will be ending 33 different 616 comic book titles.

You can thank the Secret Wars for that once the event starts in May. Once it’s all over, we’ll be getting a mix and match of the different universes.

Say goodbye to the following comics in the “616 Finale over the next few months.”

  • All-New Captain America
  • All-New Ghost Rider
  • All-New X-Men
  • Amazing Spider-Man
  • Amazing X-Men
  • Angela: Asgard’s Assassin
  • Avengers
  • Avengers World
  • Captain Marvel
  • Cyclops
  • Deadpool
  • Elektra
  • Fantastic Four
  • Guardians 3000
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Hulk
  • Inhuman
  • Iron Fist: The Living Weapon
  • Legendary Star-Lord
  • Miles Morales: Ultimate Spider-Man
  • New Avengers
  • Nightcrawler
  • Nova
  • Rocket Raccoon
  • Secret Avengers
  • Spider-Man & The X-Men
  • Spider-Man 2099
  • Storm
  • Superior Iron Man
  • Thor
  • Uncanny X-Men
  • Wolverines
  • X-Men

Earth 616 is the fictional world that is inspired by our world. It’s the universe that contains most of the Marvel stories. Now Marvel will be combining elements from this with other universes.

Marvel revealed at a January press event that only a few stories will be exempt from the new direction.

“Imagine there are two pizzas,” editor-in-chief Axel Alonso said in January. “They’re going to smash together. You’re going to have all-new toppings. Some toppings are going to drop off. You’re going to yell about some that are missing. You’re going to love the new ones that are there. That’s the new Marvel universe moving forward.”

Gabriel describes that Secret Wars is going to be similar to ’90s Age of Apocalypse, only more will be at stake.

“Secret Wars is unlike any event ever published,” he said. “It’s not just an event with a few tie-ins, it’s an entirely new publishing line, an entirely new television network’s fall line-up if you will. It’s not unlike what was done in the 1990s with Age of Apocalypse. Even then, that was just the X-Men titles. But this is so much more. The entire Marvel Universe will be affected in some really shocking, really surprising ways. And that’s just the beginning of the fun!”

Since there are many variables, Marvel Comics simply can’t end the current comics at the same time.

“Now in a perfect world, we’d have stopped every book with its April issue, putting out a nice clean May Previews catalog,” Gabriel said. “Everyone would have seen upfront all those titles that had their finale, and all those titles that were starting fresh. But things don’t always go so easily.”

“Instead we gave our creators the option to end their stories the way they wanted to; we let them tell ‘Last Days’ stories if they wanted to; we let them tell Secret Wars stories if they wanted to. So in the end Secret Wars truly has been a creative driven process.”

There will be three different Secret Wars banners including Battleworld, Last Day and Warzones. Gabriel said, “Last Days are the past, Battleworld is the present, and Warzones are the future.”


Facebook Comments