Lena Headey, Benedict Wong and Sigourney Weaver join Netflix’s The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance

Benedict Wong Lena Headey Dark Crystal The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance

Netflix has just announced additional cast and characters for The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance, the prequel set many years before the events of the original 1982 film, The Dark Crystal, from director Jim Henson and Frank Oz (the voice of Yoda).

In addition to the previously announced star-studded cast, Netflix has announced even more prominent names lending their voices to this latest iteration of puppets and fantasy including Lena Headey, Benedict Wong, and Sigourney Weaver among others. See below for the latest list of characters/actors on this impressive roster.


The new voice cast:

  • Lena Headey (Game of Thrones) as Maudra Fara
  • Benedict Wong (Avengers: Endgame) as The General
  • Awkwafina (Crazy Rich Asians) as The Collector
  • Sigourney Weaver as The Myth-Speaker
  • Hannah John-Kamen (Ant-Man and The Wasp) as Naia
  • Dave Goelz (The Dark Crystal) as Baffi, a Fizzgig

Previously announced voice cast:

The Gelfling

  • Taron Egerton (Kingsman) as Rian
  • Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch) as Brea
  • Nathalie Emmanuel (Game of Thrones) as Deet
  • Caitriona Balfe (Outlander) as Tavra
  • Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech) as All-Maudra
  • Harris Dickinson (forthcoming Maleficent 2) as Gurjin
  • Natalie Dormer (Game of Thrones) as Onica
  • Eddie Izzard (Ocean’s Thirteen) as Cadia
  • Theo James (The Divergent Series) as Rek’yr
  • Toby Jones (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy) as Librarian
  • Shazad Latif (Star Trek: Discovery) as Kylan
  • Gugu Mbatha-Raw (The Cloverfield Paradox) as Seladon
  • Mark Strong (Kingsman) as Ordon
  • Alicia Vikander (Tomb Raider) as Mira

The Skeksis & Mystics

  • Harvey Fierstein (Torch Song Trilogy) as The Gourmand
  • Mark Hamill (Child’s Play, Star Wars) as The Scientist
  • Ralph Ineson (Game of Thrones) as The Hunter
  • Jason Isaacs (The OA) as The Emperor
  • Keegan-Michael Key (Key and Peele) as The Ritual Master
  • Ólafur Darri Ólafsson (True Detective) as The Archer
  • Simon Pegg (Mission Impossible) as The Chamberlain
  • Andy Samberg (Brooklyn Nine Nine) as The Heretic

Aughra will be voiced by Donna Kimball (The Happytime Murders).

The following characters will be voiced by their puppeteers:

  • Alice Dinnean as The Ornamentalist
  • Louise Gold as Maudra Argot
  • Neil Sterenberg as The Scroll-Keeper
  • Victor Yerrid as Hup

Synopsis: The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance returns to the world of Thra with an all-new adventure. When three Gelfling discover the horrifying secret behind the Skeksis’ power, they set out on an epic journey to ignite the fires of rebellion and save their world.

The series is directed by Louis Leterrier (The Incredible Hulk) and executive produced by Leterrier, Lisa Henson and Halle Stanford. It’s co-executive produced by Jeffrey Addiss & Will Matthews, Javier Grillo-Marxuach, and Blanca Lista.

The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance will premiere on Netflix Friday, August 30, 2019.

Facebook Comments

About author