Crunchyroll Anime Awards winners list

This past Saturday, February 16th, Crunchyroll held its Third Annual Anime Awards. The award show streamed exclusively on Twitch, making it available to the millions of fans. If you didn’t have the chance to catch the awards show live on Twitch, don’t worry, because we’ve got the full list of winners for you down below.

This year’s award show was presented by the upcoming video game Devil May Cry 5. Crunchyroll’s annual awards show is made to highlight the best and brightest in Japanese animation, with categories to honor all of your favorite series, characters, moments, and more. Over the last few years, the anime industry has seen some substantial growth, with celebrity endorsements, inclusion in mainstream cultural events, and strong interest from Hollywood. Anime is said to be a $20 billion industry, with that number forecasted to continue growing.

Over 5 million global votes were cast this year across 15 different categories, up 2.1 million votes from the previous year. Fans were able to cast their votes in categories such as favorite characters, series, and creators. Winners of the Anime Awards were announced at a live event in San Francisco.

Here is the full list of winners:

  • Anime of the Year – “Devilman Crybaby” from Science SARU
  • Best Protagonist – Rimuru Tempest of “That Time I Got Reincarnated As a Slime”
  • Best Antagonist – All for One of “My Hero Academia” Season 3
  • Best Boy – Izuku ‘Deku’ Midoriya of “My Hero Academia” Season 3
  • Best Girl – Mai Sakurajima of “Rascal Does Not Dream of Bunny Girl Senpai”
  • Best Opening Sequence – “DARLING in the FRANXX” for the opening sequence “KISS OF DEATH” sung by Mika Nakashima and produced by Hyde, sequence director Toshifumi Akai, and storyboards by Atsushi Nishigori
  • Best Ending Sequence – “Attack on Titan” Season 3 for the ending sequence “Akatsuki no Requiem” sung by Linked Horizon, sequence director Satoshi Kadowaki
  • Best VA: Japanese – Mamoru Miyano for his character Kotaro Tatsumi from
  • Best VA: English – Christopher R. Sabat for his character All Might from “My Hero Academia” Season 3
  • Best Director – Masaaki Yuasa of “Devilman Crybaby”
  • Best Animation – for “Violet Evergarden” from Kyoto Animation
  • Best Film – “My Hero Academia: Two Heroes” from BONES
  • Best Character Design – “JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Golden Wind” from Takahiro Kishida with Original Designs by Hirohiko Araki
  • Best Fight Scene – All for One vs All Might from “My Hero Academia” Season 3
  • Best Continuing Series – “Dragon Ball Super” from Toei Animation

Highlights from the award show included Masahiko Minami (President & Producer at BONES INC.) being honored with this year’s Icon Award. It’s an award that recognizes the individuals that have meaningfully contributed to the anime industry. Crunchyroll released the world premiere trailer for the “Made in Abyss” theatrical event and premiered an exclusive sneak peek at “YU-NO: A girl who chants love at the bound of the world,” an anime from Studio Feel and Genco, which is set to premiere in Japan in April 2019.

For Xbox fans, Crunchyroll gave away, live on the stream, two limited editions Xbox One X with a custom made Crunchy Hime/Devil May Cry 5 skins.

Facebook Comments

About author

Arvin Santiago
Arvin Santiago 375 posts

Photo/Video Enthusiast and Escape Room "Semi-Professional"